Managing Change


Managing change can be difficult, whether it is your perception of pain, moving toward a different view of mind body recovery or even using a different method of training.

Whilst researching Mind Body Connections I happened to come across which has a very interesting graphic describing the process of change in relation to Feeling, Thought and Behaviour. It also highlight the difficult part of change and labels it the danger zone.


The site very interestingly extends the 6 steps and explains them as follows:

Stage 1 – Loss to Safety
In Stage 1 you admit to yourself that regardless of whether or not you perceive the change to be good or ‘bad” there will be a sense of loss of what “was.”

Stage 2 – Doubt to Reality
In this stage, you doubt the facts, doubt your doubts and struggle to find information about the change that you believe is valid. Resentment, skepticism and blame cloud your thinking.

Stage 3 – Discomfort to Motivation
You will recognize Stage 3 by the discomfort it brings. The change and all it means has now become clear and starts to settle in. Frustration and lethargy rule until possibility takes over.

The Danger Zone
The Danger Zone represents the pivotal place where you make the choice either to move on to Stage 4 and discover the possibilities the change has presented or to choose fear and return to Stage 1.

Stage 4 – Discovery to Perspective
Stage 4 represents the “light at the end of the tunnel.” Perspective, anticipation, and a willingness to make decisions give a new sense of control and hope. You are optimistic about a good outcome because you have choices.

Stage 5 – Understanding
In Stage 5, you understand the change and are more confident, think pragmatically, and your behavior is much more productive. Good thing.

Stage 6 – Integration
By this time, you have regained your ability and willingness to be flexible. You have insight into the ramifications, consequences and rewards of the change — past, present, and future.

Source – Change Cycle

The danger zone is the really interesting place as it highlights that fear is the enemy of change. It is then our job to overcome that fear and enable movement forward to your goal.

When it comes to fear I always remember that we were born with only two innate fears:

  • Loud Noises
  • Falling

These both have elements that protect us and are therefore completely natural. All other fears have been learnt and developed in to a behaviour. The great news about this is that if something has been learnt then we can unlearn it. There does have to be the desire, belief and expectancy to make it happen but you can do it.

One interesting system, which links nicely into the 6 Step Change Cycle mentioned above, is The Fogg Behaviour Grid. This identifies the type of behaviour and highlights the best way to address it to take the user through the ‘Danger Zone’ and towards their goal.

7 FREE eBooks

Leave A Reply